The Nonviolence Path

This week, I went through Nonviolence training and learned a lot about a path that I can take which can help solve conflicts without having to resolve to violence. The whole week was based on learning about nonviolence and being able to teach it others. I really felt as if this is something that everyone in the world should know about. The world would be a better place if people stopped resolving to violence when conflict occurred. There would be no war or threats to human life. This was a feeling I had throughout the week when I was going through various activities and discussion regarding how nonviolence can be applied.

At the end of the week, I received my certification for being a nonviolence practitioner. I felt more mature at this point as I went on stage to receive my certificate for completing the training. It was like I viewing the world more differently now. This training was truly worth it!

Other than the training, I have been engaged in planning and scheduling for Art Camp that starts next week. There are lots of fun activities and games planned out for them with the theme dinosaur week. I am really excited for that and I know the kids are going to love what we have in store for them. I am really happy that I have the opportunity to do something for the kids living in Selma. Life is hard and filled with struggle for them as they live in a place where there is poverty and segregation. I really wish to do what I can to provide a space for them to be able to express themselves and have fun. I am hoping to present Art Camp as that place.

Karan Shrestha ’18
Selma

