A Growing Appreciation

On Tuesday mornings, Nate and I are in the Campus Kitchen–our time is mainly designated to fruit and vegetable processing (blanching and/or freezing produce to make them last longer). After a few Tuesdays of processing, I began to feel like my time there was redundant–pick leaves off vegetables, blanching, freezing, and repeat. However, after a few more weeks went by, I began to see the big picture: processing is an efficient way to reduce food waste and is therefore actually worthwhile. While processing every week does get redundant, I am so happy to have learned a variety of simple techniques that people can use. While I am not the best in the kitchen, I can easily process vegetables because it is nice and easy to complete. Minimal resources are needed — a pot, ice, and water (generally speaking).

As an Environmental Studies major, a lot of my classes involve learning about how the United States is an extremely wasteful country in a variety of ways–due to excess CO2 levels from our first-world way of living, we are causing a variety of environmental impacts. Correspondingly, it is crucial to avoid wasting food so we can use less energy for food production. Avoiding excess food waste is important for a variety of reasons, one also being that our food waste ends up in landfills.

My time in Campus Kitchen has given me hope that Americans will began preserving food–there are easy, affordable ways to do so.

Alyssa Weker ’17
Gettysburg

